Excellence in Reporting Award

Excellence in Grand Jury Reporting (EIR) Award and/or
Excellence in Grand Jury Media Coverage Award


See 2018 EIR Award Recipient Report on the Apple Valley Unified School District Police Department.

View all 2018 EIR Award Nominations.

See Past Awards for a listing of past recipients.

When the awards are announced:
The annual awards, with appropriate recognition, are presented at the CGJA Annual Conference in the fall of every year.

Award criteria

Printer friendly version of award criteria

Grand Jury Reporting Award:
Report quality -- legible, documented, succinct, complete, and understandable
Citizen Impact: Importance or severity of problem
Duration/persistence of the problem
Difficulty of the investigation - many agencies, bureaucratic interference (e.g., denials, subpoenas), etc.
Substantiated findings and recommendations within the report
Exposure of the report by the media, or response from the public
Documented success of the investigation

Grand Jury Media Coverage Award:
Nominations may be based on the coverage of a specific grand jury report or on the overall
coverage given to a grand jury throughout the year.

The criteria for the Media Coverage Award include:
Increasing public awareness and understanding of the grand jury system
Increasing public awareness of a specific grand jury investigation
Improved public understanding of the issue investigated
Community awareness of the outcome of a grand jury investigation

Requirements and limitations:
Nominations may be made only by a CGJA Chapter or Association for its county. Where there is no Chapter or Association, nominations may be made by a CGJA member who resides in the county.  A county may nominate only one grand jury report and one news media coverage topic per year. A single grand jury report may be the subject of both awards.
The nominated report must have been published within the preceding five years -- thereby allowing sufficient time for responses and implementation.
Nominations must be submitted online by June 30, 2019 by going to this link:

Detailed instructions and Link to NOMINATION FORM